What is celebrated each day of Easter?

For Christians this is possibly the most important time of the year in terms of celebrations, along with Christmas. During the days of Holy Week, the crucifixion and subsequent resurrection of Jesus of Nazareth are commemorated.

These are dates of great liturgical activity and, although historically there are some cities where it is celebrated more, all towns have their own processions.

When does Holy Week begin?

Unlike other liturgical celebrations, Holy Week does not have fixed dates in the calendar, as it depends on Ash Wednesday, the day on which Lent begins. 

From that Wednesday we have to count forty days to reach Palm Sunday, the day on which this festivity officially begins. 

But what is celebrated on each day of Holy Week? We will tell you what is commemorated on each of the days of this annual celebration.

Palm Sunday

Palm Sunday is the day on which Jesus is proclaimed King of the Jews and is received by the inhabitants of Jerusalem with palm leaf branches as an act of welcome. 

This is why a mass is celebrated on this day to bless the branches. The following year, on Ash Wednesday, the branches from the previous year are burnt (hence the ashes).

Easter Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday

These 3 days commemorate, in order, the day Jesus expelled the merchants from the Temple of Jerusalem, the day Jesus anticipates the betrayal of Judas and, finally, the day Judas meets to plan the betrayal of Jesus Christ in exchange for money.

This Holy Wednesday marks the end of Lent and the beginning of Easter.

Maundy Thursday

On this day Jesus’ last supper with his disciples takes place and the institution of the Eucharist is celebrated. 

On this day the Chrism Mass is celebrated in the morning and the Evening Mass, where the Easter Triduum begins in the afternoon.

Good Friday

This is one of the most important days on which the passion, crucifixion and death of Christ is commemorated. For this reason, tradition dictates a 24-hour fast and abstinence from meat.

The Catholic religion does not celebrate the Eucharist on this day, but instead celebrates the Liturgy of the Passion of the Lord, which commemorates the agony of Jesus. 

Holy Saturday

This day is the prelude to the resurrection. Also known as the Easter Vigil. It is the day when priests will be dressed in white or gold as a sign of joy.

Ascension Sunday

Now, the most important day of Easter. The resurrection of Jesus after 3 days of being crucified. This day marks the end of the Easter Triduum.

Forty days after Easter Sunday, Ascension Sunday will be celebrated, a Christian solemnity commemorating Jesus’ ascension into heaven in the presence of his disciples.

Did you have all this information clear and would you add anything to it? You can do it in our social networks Facebook and Instagram, we read you!